Real Estate and Personal Property Taxes

The Ordinance establishes December 5th as the due date of annual Real Estate and Personal Property taxes and provides for a penalty for delinquent payment of taxes.  Late fee charges of interest on delinquent taxes, attorney’s fees, collection agency’s fees, and administrative cost fees are incurred upon the collection of delinquent town taxes.

Maintenance of Lawns and Grounds

Grass must be kept shorter than 12 inches high. If the owner fails to keep their lawn cut the Town will do it at the owner’s expense. It is appreciated if you also keep shrubs and ornamentals trimmed, and over-growth controlled.

Construction Debris

Arrangements must be made in advance with your contractor to control and remove any significant debris resulting from additions/renovations to your property.


Leash Law

Accomack County and the Town of Wachapreague, prescribes that all dogs must be on a leash or under their owner’s control when outside the home.



Clean-up After Your Dog

Dog owners must clean-up after their dogs on public and private property within the Town of Wachapreague.




The Town of Wachapreague requires permits before any construction work is begun.  Please contact the Zoning Administrator.


Copies of all Town ordinances are available at the Town Hall. Here are frequently referenced town documents:

Hazard Mitigation Planning Process

State, tribal, and local governments engage in hazard mitigation planning to identify natural hazards that impact them, identify strategies and activities to reduce any losses from those hazards, and establish a coordinated approach to implementing the plan, taking advantage of a wide range of resources. Click on the graphic to understand the core steps in completing a hazard mitigation plan. We will post this plan when it is completed.

Community Rating System

The National Flood Insurance Program's (NFIP's) Community Rating System (CRS) is a voluntary incentive program that recognizes communities for implementing floodplain management practices that exceed the Federal minimum requirements of the NFIP to provide protection from flooding.

In exchange for a community's proactive efforts to reduce flood risk, policyholders can receive reduced flood insurance premiums for buildings in the community. These reduced premiums reflect the reduced flood risk resulting from community efforts toward achieving the three CRS goals:

  1. Reduce flood damage to insurable property
  2. Strengthen and support the insurance aspects of the NFIP
  3. Encourage a comprehensive approach to floodplain management

Participation in the Community Rating System (CRS) is voluntary. By participating, communities earn credit points that determine classifications. There are 10 CRS Classes: Class 1 requires the most credit points and provides the largest flood insurance premium reduction (45 percent), while Class 10 means the community does not participate in the CRS or has not earned the minimum required credit points, and residents receive no premium reduction. The CRS Classes are based on completion of 19 creditable activities organized into 4 categories.

We will post our CRS Plan when it is completed.